Pages Menu
HSmart_Logo VSmart_Logo
Categories Menu

Student Award Winners


The 23rdd Annual Gulf of Mexico Deepwater Technical Symposium is proud to recognize this year's Student Award Winners and their presentations.  The 2019 symposium continued to involve students in the oil and gas industry to better acquaint them with the opportunities within the industry and the challenges it faces.  Moreover, the organizers of the symposium wanted the students to be included in our goals to share knowledge, best practices and new technologies.


Below is the full list of this year's award winners:

AwardName and UniversityPresentation
1st PlaceCaitlyn Thiberville (LSU)"Simulation of Foam-Assisted Mud Cap Drilling Processes"
2nd PlaceJames Nielsen (LSU)"Absorption and Desorption Behaviors of Methane in Oil For An Enhanced Riser Gas Management"
3rd PlaceLucas Nibert (Alabama)"Comparative Analysis of Carbonate Sedimentation in Bahia de Santa Clara, Cuba and Florida Bay, USA: Implications for Initiation and Evolution of Carbonate Mudbanks"
Honorable MentionCarmen Atkins (Alabama)"Examining the Relationship between Water Chemistry and Carbonate Factory Type, Jurassic Smackover, Southwest, AL"
Honorable MentionKyle Olsen (Alabama)"Paleoenvironments of the Norphlet Formation: Conecuh Basin, Escambia County, AL"
Honorable MentionJace Granier with Todd Brady et al (Nicholls State)"The Sleep Effects of Shift Work in the Oil and Gas Industry in the Gulf of Mexico"
Poster PresentationMakuachukwu Mbaegbu (LSU)"Improving Onsite Reservoir Fluid Characterization Using Mass Spectrometry"
Poster PresentationTemitope Ajayi (LSU)"A Pitzer Ion Interaction Model for the Gulf of Mexico Wellbore Integrity Assessments"